The Bear Den

If a Cub Scout has completed the second grade (or is 9 years old) and has earned the Bobcat Badge, he may start earning the Bear rank. He receives a Bear Scout handbook and Bear neckerchief, but continues to use the Wolf neckerchief slide when beginning the Bear portion of the boy scout trail. He will continue to use the blue Cub Scout Uniform. This part of the boy scout trail is intended to take one school year, preparing the scout to begin earning his Webelos rank after he completes third grade.

In the Bear scouting program, there are 4 general achievement groups: God, Country, Family, and Self and a total of about 120 individual achievement tasks. In each group, a certain number of achievements are required to earn the Bear rank badge. After earning the Bear badge, the scout may earn arrow points by completing additional achievement tasks and elective tasks.

Arrow Points

The Bear badge must be earned first before any arrow points are awarded.
A gold arrow point is awarded for the first 10 achievement and elective tasks over the Bear requirements. A silver arrow point is awarded for each additional 10 tasks completed. Since all arrow points are awarded after the Bear badge is awarded, your scouts would not receive any awards until February at the earliest. To provide frequent recognition, Bear scouts can earn Progress Beads - you need to buy these Progress Towards Ranks Kits at a Scout Shop. For completing the requirements of 3 of the Achievements listed below, one RED bead is awarded and placed on the Progress Towards Ranks totem. This provides the scout with a total of 4 beads culminating in the award of his Bear badge. These beads are awarded at the den level rather than at Pack meetings.

There is often confusion about how requirements are used for arrow points - it's different between the Wolf and Bear years.
For Bears, requirements in any achievements not used for earning the Bear rank can be used towards an arrow point. For example, a scout needs to complete three of the COUNTRY achievements for his Bear rank. He does Tall Tales, Sharing Your World, and Take Care of Your Planet. He can then use any of the seven requirements in What Makes America Special? and the seven requirements in Law Enforcement Is a Big Job towards arrow points.

The purpose of scouting

The Cub Scouts of America have helped boys become Scouts since 1930. Parents, leaders, and organizations have worked together to achieve these 10 purposes of Cub Scouting!

  1. Character Development
  2. Spiritual Growth
  3. Good Citizenship
  4. Sportsmanship & Fitness
  5. Family Understanding
  6. Respectful Relationships
  7. Personal Achievement
  8. Friendly Service
  9. Fun & Adventure
  10. Preparation for Boy Scouts

Cub Scouts have 12 Core Values:

  1. Citizenship: Contributing service and showing responsibility to local, state, and national communities.
  2. Compassion: Being kind and considerate, and showing concern for the well-being of others.
  3. Cooperation: Being helpful and working together with others toward a common goal.
  4. Courage: Being brave and doing what is right regardless of our fears, the difficulties, or the consequences.
  5. Faith: Having inner strength and confidence based on our trust in God.
  6. Health and Fitness: Being personally committed to keeping our minds and bodies clean and fit.
  7. Honesty: Telling the truth and being worthy of trust.
  8. Perseverance: Sticking with something and not giving up, even if it is difficult.
  9. Positive Attitude: Being cheerful and setting our minds to look for and find the best in all situations.
  10. Resourcefulness: Using human and other resources to their fullest.
  11. Respect: Showing regard for the worth of something or someone.
  12. Responsibility: Fulfilling our duty to God, country, other people, and ourselves.
Android or just a Calendar User?
Add our Calendar:
Add to Google CalendarAdd to Google Calendar

Here's what's going on...

 click on an item to find out more