The Wolf Den

The Wolf Den is about laying the foundation for developing boys into Scouts.

If a Cub Scout has completed the first grade (or is 8 years old) and has earned the Bobcat Badge, he may start earning the Wolf rank. He receives a Wolf Scout handbook, Wolf neckerchief, and Wolf neckerchief slide when beginning the Wolf portion of the boy scout trail. He will also need a blue Cub Scout Uniform. This part of the boy scout trail is intended to take one school year, preparing the scout to begin earning his Bear rank after he completes second grade.

The Wolf Badge

After earning the Wolf badge by completing 58 of the 74 available achievement tasks, the scout may earn arrow points by completing electives. There are 12 achievement areas and 23 elective topics that might interest your scouts.

Arrow Points

The Wolf badge must be earned first before any arrow points are awarded. A gold arrow point is awarded for the first 10 elective requirements completed. A silver arrow point is awarded for each additional 10 elective requirements completed.
For example, if a Wolf scout completes 4 requirements from Be an Actor, 4 from Make It Yourself, and 2 from Foot Power, he has earned an arrow point.

Since all arrow points are awarded after the Wolf badge is awarded, your scouts will not receive any awards until February at the earliest. This is not consistent with the philosophy that frequent recognition boosts participation and sense of achievement. To provide frequent recognition, Wolf scouts can earn Progress Beads - you need to buy these Progress Towards Ranks Kits at a Scout Shop. For completing the requirements of 3 of the Achievements listed below, one YELLOW bead is awarded and placed on the Progress Towards Ranks totem. This provides the scout with a total of 4 beads culminating in the award of his Wolf badge. These beads are awarded at the den level rather than at Pack meetings.

Much of the advancement for the Wolf rank is done by the scout with his family outside of the den. The parent signs off in the scout's handbook and the Den Leader records the advancements from the handbook to tracking chart or software program. As the Tiger program was completely family oriented, so the Wolf program relies heavily on family involvement. You will see this gradually change with the scout doing more with his den and more individual direction as he reaches Webelos and Boy Scouts.

The purpose of scouting

The Cub Scouts of America have helped boys become Scouts since 1930. Parents, leaders, and organizations have worked together to achieve these 10 purposes of Cub Scouting!

  1. Character Development
  2. Spiritual Growth
  3. Good Citizenship
  4. Sportsmanship & Fitness
  5. Family Understanding
  6. Respectful Relationships
  7. Personal Achievement
  8. Friendly Service
  9. Fun & Adventure
  10. Preparation for Boy Scouts

We have touched on these purposes with the Tiger Den program and with the Wolf Den we will be emphasizing these purposes more and giving more details and guidance for the scouts to follow. The Cub Scouts of America colors are blue and gold. They have special meaning, which will help boys see beyond the fun of Cub Scouting to its ultimate goals. The blue stands for truth and spirituality, steadfast loyalty, and the sky above. The gold stands for warm sunlight, good cheer and happiness. Along with the 10 purposes, and the colors having special meaning. The Cub Scout Program also have 12 core values the wish the scouts to have.

Cub Scouts have 12 Core Values:

The Wolf Den will get more than an introduction to these core values. They will participate in ceremonies, skits and events that will strengthen these values, and they will get an introduction of what it means to become a Scout, and a responsible adult. As the Wolf Den leader I would like to ask all of you to help me instill these values into our scout’s actions and attitudes and support these values throughout Scouting and beyond.

  1. Citizenship: Contributing service and showing responsibility to local, state, and national communities.
  2. Compassion: Being kind and considerate, and showing concern for the well-being of others.
  3. Cooperation: Being helpful and working together with others toward a common goal.
  4. Courage: Being brave and doing what is right regardless of our fears, the difficulties, or the consequences.
  5. Faith: Having inner strength and confidence based on our trust in God.
  6. Health and Fitness: Being personally committed to keeping our minds and bodies clean and fit.
  7. Honesty: Telling the truth and being worthy of trust.
  8. Perseverance: Sticking with something and not giving up, even if it is difficult.
  9. Positive Attitude: Being cheerful and setting our minds to look for and find the best in all situations.
  10. Resourcefulness: Using human and other resources to their fullest.
  11. Respect: Showing regard for the worth of something or someone.
  12. Responsibility: Fulfilling our duty to God, country, other people, and ourselves.
Android or just a Calendar User?
Add our Calendar:
Add to Google CalendarAdd to Google Calendar

Here's what's going on...

 click on an item to find out more